Comic Review: Invasion from Planet Wrestletopia #1-3 by Ed Kuehnel and Matt Entlin

images

Planet Wrestletopia is a comic which is about an alien invasion from the Planet Wrestletopia which happens due to the main character, a wrestler declaring himself as the “galactic champion of the universe” as a result of hypnosis.

The plot of this was absolutely absurd but in the best possible way. The concept of alien wrestlers was very amusing to me. However, I do feel that the plot could have been developed a bit more and feel like it was very surface-level without any depth to the characters or plot at all. I thought the art was really realistic and well-drawn which I enjoyed.

I did not really get attached to any of the characters as I thought they were rather shallow and self-centered. I also wish that there had been more female characters with their own plot lines which did not just exist for the purposes of a male character’s story arc.

Overall, while it was enjoyable at face value and did have its funny moments, I wish the plot and characters had been more detailed and had more depth. I do think it is a comic that is more suited to people in their early teens or people who are heavily invested in the wrestling world which I’m not.

Despite the fact that I didn’t love the comic and have several critiques of it,  I am looking forward to seeing how the story progresses.

Invasion from Planet Wrestletopia by Ed Kuehnel and Matt Entlin Issues #1 and #2 are available now and Issue #3 will be released on June 19th 2019. 

 

Leave a comment