Book Review: A Maiden’s Prayer by Srianthi Perera

A Maiden’s Prayer by Srianthi Perera tells the story of Berty Rajakaruna, whose family is trying to marry him off in order to reclaim the estate he is supposed to inherit.

I enjoyed this book. I thought it was incredibly interesting to learn about the history of Sri Lanka in the 70s. I found the history regarding the power of astrology in relation to match making particular compelling.

I also really enjoyed Srianthi’s writing style. It flows beautifully with the plot and I really liked Tamara as a humorous narrator.

Finally, I thought all of the characters were really likeable. They all worked really well together and I enjoyed their interactions.

I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a compelling historical novel with a touch of humour.

A Maiden’s Prayer by Srianthi Perera is available now.

Leave a comment